About Liverpool Liberal Democrats

The Liberal Democrats exist to build and safeguard a fair, free and open society, in which we seek to balance the fundamental values of liberty, equality and community, and in which no-one shall be enslaved by poverty, ignorance or conformity. We champion the freedom, dignity and well-being of individuals, we acknowledge and respect their right to freedom of conscience and their right to develop their talents to the full. We aim to disperse power, to foster diversity and to nurture creativity. 

From Cyril Carr to 'Jones the vote' to Mike Storey and Richard Kemp, Liberal Democrats have a proud history of representing Liverpool.   The Liberal Democrats previously controlled Liverpool City Council between 1998 - 2010 and have led the way in developing projects such as Liverpool One and the restoration of the Albert Dock.  Liverpool was also granted European capital of culture in 2008.

The Liberal Democrats are the main opposition on Liverpool City council, led by Cllr Richard Kemp CBE.  The Liverpool (and Halewood) Liberal Democrats are chaired by Kris Brown.

Every year at its Annual General Meeting, Liberal Democrats in Liverpool elect the local party executive.

The 2017/18 Executive are:

Chair: Kris Brown

Vice Chairs: Anna Martin, Paul Clark

Secretary: Steve Atkinson

Treasurer: Erica Kemp

Data Officer: Tom Sebire

Membership Development Officer: Alan Tormey

Equality and Diversity Officer: Tracy Best

Young Liberals: Alisha Lewis

Non-Portfolio: Norman Mills, Anna McCracken, Norman Darbyshire, Wiebke Rutejans


Follow Liverpool Liberal Democrats on Twitter

Like Liverpool Liberal Democrats on Facebook